101 Books in 365 Days

One of my resolutions for 2011 was to read at least 100 books, with no restrictions as to size, theme or format. I’ve always been a heavy reader, but since I have so many different interests that I insist on dedicating my time to, I had never reached the three digit mark. I’m happy to say that this year, I managed to!

To be precise, I read a total of 101 books (it’s unlikely that I’ll read more until the weekend, so I’m leaving it at that). Goodreads was a prime factor in keeping me motivated, since I could track my reading and also see how my friends were doing with their challenges, which added a bit of friendly competition to the whole thing (turns out I know a lot of heavy readers: at least three of my friends on the site read more than 200 books). Anyway, I’m happy to have completed the challenge. I feel like I learned to manage my time better (more on that on my New Year resolution post – coming soon!) and I definitely feel like an improved reader and more informed individual for all the books I read this year.

Of the 101 books, a little more than a quarter were graphic novels. There were a few that went directly into my favourite books list: The Nightly News by Jonathan Hickman, Daytripper by Gabrial Bá and Fábio Moon, and V for Vendetta and the Promethea series, both by Alan Moore.

I read a healthy amount of books by Portuguese authors, certainly more than last year (this will be one of my resolutions for the new year). Among them were Amados Gatos by José Jorge Letria, Nada de Melancolia by Pedro Mexia, and Nome de Guerra by José de Almada Negreiros.

It was a good year for classics. I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, The Outsider by Albert Camus and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I was particularly attracted to science fiction and fell in love with Philip K. Dick, after reading Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? and The Minority Report. I also read I, Robot by Isaac Asimov.

In more contemporary fiction my favourite series was, without a doubt, The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The third and final book, Mockingjay, was one of the highlights of the year for me. Goes to prove that young adult fiction doesn’t have to be superficial or boring.

When it came to non-fiction my interests were, unsurprisingly, all over the place: from Photography and Art, to social media, to languages and travel (learning Mandarin and going to Scotland had a lot to do with this), to business and economics, to biographies and philosophy, I don’t think I left a stone unturned in diversifying my reading, and I plan to do the same in 2012.

Also, I’m thinking of merging my book blog with this one, and post any book reviews I write here. It just doesn’t make sense to me to keep things separated anymore, specially since I don’t update the main blog very often.

Here’s to a 2012 filled with books and other good things!

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

5 comments

  1. That’s a lot o f books for a year. This was also my first year crossing the three digit mark, so kudos for us. 🙂

    A great uear of 2012 for you!

    P.S.: We have to do that photographic tour soon. 🙂

    • Congrats to us! I see you read 109 books, fantastic. Will you be doing a recap of the year on your blog?

      A photographic tour sounds great! Maybe some kind of walk around Porto and the river? 🙂

      • Yeah, I’ll be doing a catch-up of my readings in my blog before the end of the year.

        Sounds great in Oporto. What day is best for you? (since I’ll be unemplyed from January onwards, any day is good for me). (send me a message on facebook)

  2. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 | Sofia Romualdo

  3. Um verdadeiro feito! 🙂

Leave a Reply

