Week 1 – Butterflies

This year I wanted to try my hands at the 52 Weeks project, the one in which you take one photo a week for a whole year, and decided to make it a self-portrait project. I’m very rusty when it comes to self-portraits nowadays – actually, I’m rusty when it comes to creating photos (as opposed to taking them). So I’m starting off slow, without a specific concept in mind, just to dip my feet in never-really-familiar waters.

I have always been particularly attracted to butterflies. For me they embody the ephemeral, a beauty that is always transitory, a tragedy and a promise encased into a single delicate being.

I’ll be posting these on Flickr, if you want to follow the project there.

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

3 comments

  1. Seems to me you are off to a good start!

  2. Chloe

    i thought about self portraiture for my 52 weeks project but i’m not that creative with myself as a subject
    i’ve had a flick through your photos, they are really good, keep up the lovely photography 🙂

    • Thank you! I have to say that sometimes I feel the same way – it’s hard not to be repetitive with self-portraits. But I’m very glad you liked them. I checked your page, very cool photos!

Leave a Reply

