Weekly Readings

So the first week of 2012 has passed by and I’m already two books ahead for my reading challenge. I wish I could say this means that my to-read pile is getting smaller, but the truth is most were new books that I picked up for my internship. I’m doing research on photographic camera collections, and decided it would be useful to read how things are done in other museological areas, since books on the subject aren’t all that easy to come by. So that’s three books about inventory norms.

The fourth book was Something Wicked This Way Comes, by Ray Bradbury (click to see my review on Goodreads). I had actually started reading this way back in the beginning of December. I don’t know what it is with me and Ray Bradbury, but I just can’t seem to really get into his books, no matter how I try. Fahrenheit 451 had a brilliant concept, and it left a mark on my memory, but I remember not loving his writing, and that’s what I felt with this book as well. Still, an okay read for me.

I am now midway through Small Gods by Terry Pratchett, and I’m absolutely enchanted by this book. His writing is funny, insightful, ironic and it thrills me as much as it makes me think. I had forgotten how much I love his Discworld series. Must get my hands on a few more.

Pictured above: my beloved Kindle and notebook.

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

Leave a Reply

