February Readings

Writing weekly posts about my readings was turning out to be a bit too much, so I decided to make it a monthly feature instead. Unfortunately February wasn’t very good for me in terms of reading. I just didn’t have enough time, even though I tried to use all my lunch hours to catch up. March is looking to be even busier.

Anyway, here are the books:

Designing for the Social Web by Joshua Porter – I absolutely loved this book. Lately I haven’t had much luck with books on social media, but this one was well-written, thought-provoking, practical and useful. It applies Sociology and Psychology to design so it can be successfully applied to social media. Highly recommended.

Sementes de Algodão by Rui Campos – (not pictured above) A story about a boy born in Angola to Portuguese immigrants and forced to return to Portugal after the April 25th Revolution. This was written by a Portuguese friend of mine. It’s his first book and it shows, but the story was compelling and it’s interesting to read a personal, somewhat fictionalized account of an emotional time in Portuguese history.

A Simbologia do Espaço no Senhor dos Anéis by Maria do Rosário – This is a well-researched interpretation of several places in The Lord of the Rings, written in a language that is adequate to a systematic study of a lyrical subject, without falling into the usual trap of being too dry or indecipherable. I read the Lord of the Rings trilogy for the first time when I was 13, and The Silmarillion and all the others after that, but strangely enough I never read any academic research on it, until this one. I’ll be sure to search for the works that are mentioned in this book’s bibliography.

Media Control: The Spectacular Achievements of Propaganda by Noam Chomsky – I was familiar with Noam Chomsky’s ideas, from references and such, but I hadn’t actually read any of his books. Not knowing where to start, I chose this one purely for convenience. The ideas he presents are powerful and very important. Read the entire review I wrote on Goodreads.

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

2 comments

  1. Some light reading, huh? haha

Leave a Reply

