Week 12 – Darker

I didn’t manage to take and post a photograph on Sunday. I had a good excuse: it was my 27th birthday. Also, I was very busy, as I still am, and will be at least until April.

I’ve gotten to a point when I don’t feel very interested in self-portraits anymore (at least my own), which is what has always happened to me with these projects before. I am still intrigued by the concept of the self-portrait, but maybe I’m just not cut out to make them. We’ll see.

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

3 comments

  1. Hello Sofia,

    I’ve been following your self-portrait experiments, and according to my own commonsensical judgement, I find them quite amazing. I understand that (our own) self-portraits may not be so interesting, as we spend the whole time with our own selves. But if you are keen on exploring the conceptual/aesthetic dimension of the genre, you should definitely keep going and draw some conclusions. Carry on the great work!

  2. Flávio Santos

    Hello Sofia,

    I’ve been following your self-portrait experiments, and according to my own commonsensical judgement (I am not an artist), I find them quite amazing. I understand that (our own) self-portraits may not be so interesting, as we spend the whole time with our own selves. But if you are keen on exploring the conceptual/aesthetic dimension of the genre, you should definitely keep going and draw some conclusions.

    Carry on the great work!

    • Thanks for the thoughtful comment! The problem with self portraits is that they seem so simple in the surface, specially with their ubiquitousness on the internet, but they actually reflect the often complicated relationship we have with ourselves and our bodies. I haven’t figured out that relationship yet, which is why (I think) I always hit a wall of confusion with my self portraits. Right now I feel like I’m wildly splashing around instead of following a path toward any conclusion… I guess I’ll keep at it and see if at the end of the project I feel differently.

Leave a Reply

