Weeks 13 and 14 – The Double

Two weeks in one post. I hit a sort of “wall” in this project, a photographer’s block if you will. I am having trouble figuring out what self portraits mean, or can mean, and I haven’t had the mental availability necessary to think about it, nor have I been able to abandon myself to the project and figure it out later.

These two simple portraits are mere explorations of color and texture, with the use of mirrors as the only nod to the above issues.

I’m curious as to what other photographers (or any kind of artists, really) feel about self-portraits. What do they mean to you? Why do you do them?

 

Texture in the first photo from pareerica.

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

2 comments

  1. Flávio Santos

    It’s sad to hear. I hope you’ll recover from that photographer’s block soon and grace us with your pictures. Perhaps you should shift your focus towards another subject? I love this project, for instance: http://www.clouds365.com/year3/

  2. Chloe

    beautiful & creative .. & you say you have photo block..?

    self portraits frustrate the hell out of me, i find them difficult & then after about 50 shots i get that one that makes me go ‘ahhh’
    keep shooting

Leave a Reply

