2012 Readings: 100 Books

aldeia

For the second year in a row, one of my resolutions was to read 100 books, as well as reading more books by Portuguese authors. I’m happy to say I was able to meet both goals, although this year it felt a lot harder than last year.

As always, Goodreads was a great way to stay motivated and keep track of what I was reading, and the stats tool is very handy for end of the year assessments. It shows me that around 1/8th of the books I was were by Portuguese authors, which is a lot more than I usually read. Included are Prelúdio by Anton Stark (the first Portuguese steampunk novel), Porto – Nos Lugares da História by Germano Silva (a book filled with historical curiosities from my city), and several graphic novels.

As usual, science fiction and fantasy made up the largest chunk of my readings, specially when it comes to classics. From Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes and The Martian Chronicles, to Lord of the Flies by William Golding, A Scanner Darkly, Ubik and The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick, The Invisible Man and The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells, to I Am Legend by Richard Matheson… It helps that I took Coursera’s course on Science Fiction and Fantasy – highly recommended, by the way!

It was also a big year for Steampunk, which I read for reviewing on Clockwork Portugal. Some of my favourites include the Leviathan series by Scott Westerfeld, The Iron Seas series by Meljean Brook, and The Difference Engine by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling.

As for non-fiction, a lot of my readings were focused on China and contemporary art. I went to the Shanghai Contemporary Art Biennale on a scholarship, to participate in their Curatorial Workshop, and it was a great experience.

See my entire list of 2012 readings here.

That said, my goal for 2013 will be to read 60 books. As always, you can keep up with my lists and reviews on my Goodreads page. Hope to see you there!

About Sofia Romualdo

Curator in training. Book addict. Art lover. Geek. Dreamer.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Looking Back on 2012 « Sofia Romualdo

Leave a Reply

